Richard and Diane up a tree, k.i.s.s.i.n.g.

It feels odd blogging after a couple of months; I specifically exiled myself after the intensity of the essay and photo project, but am now back in the saddle.

My recent tutorial with Patrick Sutherland was helpful although, at c. 20 minutes, it felt rushed and I didn’t make the best use of time – I’m still awkward using the faceless Wimba system – although I have been known to use a telephonic device…

We discussed voice – finding a personal style. Patrick suggested that, on my week off, I ‘immerse’ myself in all things photographic. He seems a jolly nice chap, so I assumed he didn’t mean dive into a chemical bath. I started with three exhibitions at the Tate Modern.

First up was TARYN SIMON. I didn’t get it. Conceptually – yup, I’m there – but the execution didn’t work for me. I found the layout, font and cut-out portraits distracting.

Next up was AKRAM ZATAARI. Primarily I was like ‘okay, so it’s just a collection of photos from a studio photographer, so far so blah’; but then I realised how important he was in allowing people to be themselves in a safe environment.

 

And the story of the husband demanding Akram deface his wife’s negatives as he was angry that she dared visit the studio without his consent – only to return for enlargements after she killed herself to escape his tyranny.

And then I found Diane.

Like many, I’d seen numerous Diane Arbus images – the grimacing child with the grenade, the sunbathing family, the mixed race couple – but what I hadn’t appreciated was the focus she put on establishing close bonds with ‘people on the margins of society’, to produce those ‘portraits of astonishing intimacy’. 

I felt a visceral connection with her work and modus operandi – but was taken aback by the sensitive, haunting ethereal beauty of some of her images. The albino sword swallower wasn’t a freak, she was a pre-Raphaelite heroine; the adults with learning difficulties weren’t embarrassments to be hidden away, they were people frozen in moments of pleasure.

I heart Diane.

About richienglish

I'm a photographer with a predilection for death, sexuality, mental health and odd stuff. Say hi, I like chatting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Richard and Diane up a tree, k.i.s.s.i.n.g.

  1. uta beyer says:

    feeling exactly the same regarding tutorial and wimba – often a bit frustrating. thanks for this post, i don’t feel so alone any more.

  2. Jo Ellicott says:

    So am not the only one who’s been ‘bloggless’ for the last couple months – thanks I feel better ! Interesting to hear about your gallery visits, I am also making a more conscious effort to get out there because the weeks come and go and you get so involved with the ‘doing’ of the course and other work that you don’t always look outside as much as one should or could. And Diane Arbus had a great way of photographing unique people which I think was an important mark in time and should be continued much more…

What do you think?